About Us Members In Transitions Newsletters Education Awards Classifieds
About Us

Our Partners

Faculty of Extension, University of Alberta:
Public Sector Studies, formerly known as Government Studies, is a number of programs offered by the Faculty of Extension at the University of Alberta. The organization is the custodian of public administration continuing education programs which have run continuously for fifty plus years providing education to Local Government managers and staff. Public Sector Studies is one of the largest university continuing education agencies of its kind, enjoys a national reputation as an innovator in public administration education.


2017 R W Hay Recipient:
  • Theresa Van Oort, CLGM
    Chief Administrative Officer
    County of Northern Lights

Rural Municipalities of Alberta
(Rural Elected Official's Association):
The RMA is widely recognized as the representative voice of Alberta's rural municipal governments. The Association provides a common voice for rural municipalities and allows its members to pool their collective wisdom, experience and influence for the benefit of all rural Albertans.

R.W. Hay Award of Excellence: The Society of Local Government Managers has partnered with the Association to provide an award program to recognize excellence in rural administration. The award is presented no more than once a year to a clearly deserving candidate nominated and endorsed by a peer review committee established by the RMA and the Society.


Alberta Municipal Affairs:
Municipal Affairs a provincial government department that supports and promotes professional administration in Alberta's local governments. The Society is a strong supporter of the “Municipal Excellence Program”. For more details on this exciting initiative check it out on the Department’s Web page.


2018 Dedicated CAO Awards:
  • Peter Smyl CLGM, Town of Whitecourt

2018 Dedicated Senior Team Award:

  • Town of Devon

Alberta Urban Municipalities Association:
(Urban Elected Official's Association)

The AUMA provides leadership in advocating local government interests to the provincial government and other organizations, and provides services that address the needs of its membership.

The Dedicated CAO and Dedicated Municipal Team Awards: The Society of Local Government Managers has partnered with the AUMA to recognize outstanding chief appointed officers and outstanding municipal teams in a municipality.

The William F. Lede and Ernest Newman Memorial Bursaries:

Founded by the families and the AUMA in memory of two very esteemed urban members, are awarded to students and practicing administrators enrolled in the study of local government at the U of A. Government Studies administers these bursaries.


Alberta Rural Municipal Administrators Association:
The Alberta Rural Municipal Administrators Association is a fraternal group of rural administrators who deal with the day-to-day issues confronting their municipalities and promote excellence in rural administration. Goals of the association include: improving local government, promoting educational, professional and ethical standards for its membership and being an effective liaison with the AAMD&C, the Province of Alberta and other associations. For more information, visit


Local Government Administration Association:
The Association is an organization whose membership is made up primarily of urban administrative personnel which presents the concerns of municipal administration and is the voice of its members to the elected official's association (AUMA) and to provincial government departments. For more information, contact